History and Developments

Brief Historical Outline of Establishments

The Salesian Society of St. John Bosco, Philippine South province was canonically established last May 30, 1992. Below are the year of establishment of our communities in Visayas and Mindanao.


1951 – Victorias, Negros Occidental, DBTI, established

1954 – Punta Princesa, Cebu, DBTC formerly Boys’ Town, established

1957 – Punta Princesa, Cebu, Lourdes Parish now Archdiocesan Shrine (2007), established


1976 – Lawaan, Talisay Cebu, Don Bosco Missionary Seminary, now Don Bosco Formation Center, established

1977 – Pasil, Cebu, Don Bosco Pasil, established

1979 – Victorias, Negros Occidental, St. Joseph Parish, established


1986 –   Dumaguete, Negros Oriental, St. Louis School-Don Bosco, established

1988 –   Banilad, Cebu, Don Bosco Boy’s Home, now in Liloan, established

1989 –   Mati, Davao Oriental, Don Bosco Training Center and Sacred Heart Parish, established


1991 – Murcia, Negros Occidental, St. John Bosco Parish, established

1993 – Borongan, Eastern Samar, Training Center, established

1995 – Talamban, Cebu, Provincial House, established

1998 – Dumangas, Iloilo, Training Center, established

1998 – Lawaan, Talisay, Cebu, Retreat House, established

1999 – Quetta, Pakistan, Don Bosco Learning Center, established


2000 – Lahore, Pakistan, Don Bosco Learning Center, established

2008 – Maa, Davao City, Boy’s Town/Calinan, established

2016 – Pakistan Delegation, established